Navrati-Day 1- Maa Shailputri


Nava – that also means ‘new’ – denotes ‘nine’ the num­ber to which sages attach spe­cial sig­nif­i­cance. Hence, we have Nava-ratri (9 nights), Nava-patrika (9 leaves / herbs / plants), Nava-gra­ha (9 plan­ets), and Nava-Dur­ga (9 appel­la­tions).Nava Dur­ga, if wor­shipped with reli­gious fer­vor dur­ing Navara­tri, it is believed, lift the divine spir­it in us and fill us with renewed hap­pi­ness.

One of the­se nine forms of Maa Dur­ga is wor­shiped every day in Navra­tri.

Day 1: MATA SHAILPUTRI:The first form of Maa Dur­ga known as “Shailpu­tri”. God­dess Dur­ga was born in the house of King of Moun­tains “Par­vat Raj Himalaya”, so she is called “Shailpu­tri” maens the daugh­ter of moun­tain.


The sto­ry of Moth­er God­dess is writ­ten as fol­low in some scrip­tures.

Maa Bhag­wati in her ear­lier birth was born as a daugh­ter of Dak­sh Pra­jap­ati. Then her name was ‘Sati’ and she was mar­ried to Lord Shiva. But in a sac­ri­fi­cial cer­e­mony orga­nized by her father Pra­jap­ati Dak­sh, she got her body burnt in the yog­ic fire, because she could not bear the insult of her hus­band Lord Shiva by her father Pra­jap­ati Dak­sha in the sac­ri­fi­cial cer­e­mony.

In her next birth she incar­nat­ed her as God­dess Par­vati, the daugh­ter of Par­va­traj Himalaya and among Nava Dur­gas she has been referred to as Saila­pu­tri who was again known as Hima­vati. In her Haima­vati aspect she defeat­ed all promi­nent gods. Like her pre­vi­ous birth in this life also Maa Shaila­pu­tri (Par­vati) got mar­ried with Lord Shiva. The first and the most promi­nent among Nava Dur­gas, Shaila­pu­tri is of immense impor­tance and her glo­ries are end­less. On the first day of Navra­tra wor­ship it is she who is wor­shiped. The embod­i­ment of the pow­er of Brah­ma, Vish­nu and Shiva, she rides a bull and car­ries a tri­dent and a lotus in her two hands.

Con­tent : Sto­ry heard from mum­my & Maa Vaish­vavi

Pic Cour­tesy: Google

© Ruchie2k16

Spread love by giv­ing valu­able com­ments and shar­ing? as I always say “Shar­ing knowl­edge is gain­ing Knowl­edge

Vote For Me @ The Top Mommy Blogs Directory Vote For Me @ The Top Mommy Blogs Directory

35 total views, 3 views today


  1. Hey , I was­nt aware about the sig­nif­i­cance of 9 — its cor­re­la­tion to new ! That was very insight­ful. Also the sto­ry behind Navra­tri was inter­est­ing. Its great that we are start­ing some­thing new today and I am sure today being such an aus­pi­cious day .. will bring you suc­cess and hap­pi­ness all through octo­ber…

  2. Very Infor­ma­tive! Got to know a lot of infor­ma­tion on the Sig­nif­i­cance of the Day 1.Looking for­ward for more posts on Navrathri. All the best for the Dai­ly­Chat­ter Challenge.What an amaz­ing way to start the chal­lenge:)

  3. I was MIA the­se days. But now I’m back from my vaca­tion and I intend to read all the posts.
    I am glad I could read your posts on Navrati for I nev­er knew the sig­nif­i­cance of each of the days.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.